Newly elected Ward 48 ANC executive committee members (l-r) Motlalepule Mosimane, Shirley Ndima and Peter Taele.

The winds of change blew in the direction of the Ward 48 African National Congress (ANC) at PJ Simelane High School in Dobsonville on June 10 to usher in a new ANC administration to lead the ruling party’s campaign for the 2019 general election in the ward.

The election of Peter Taele saw the veteran comrade replace former councillor Tshepo Nawane at the helm for a top position in the Viola-Hashe ANC branch in Ward 48.

Taele was jockeying for the position against the new kid on the block, Kgomotso Mahlangu and won by an overwhelming majority.

His Struggle credentials are well-documented as he was an ANC member since the early 1950s in Zeerust (former Bophuthatswana) now called North West. He was arrested in 1963 for not being in possession of an identity document.

“I was walking in the streets without carrying an identity document.  The apartheid police officers arrested me for that. Again in 1974, I was arrested for breaking a curfew law.

“This was followed by another arrest for walking in Roodepoort town after 5 pm. They put me behind bars for walking the streets at night because I was a black person.

“I have served in the ANC leadership executive committee in Dobsonville since the unbanning of the liberation movement to date,” said Taele.

He moved to Johannesburg in 1956 to continue his schooling and later joined the ANC to continue fighting against apartheid injustices. His interest in politics was inspired by his family elders who were ANC activists and grew up listening to great stories about ANC.

“Our plan as the Viola-Hashe branch in the coming general elections is to go to the people and listen to their concerns. Our objective is to get back our people because in 1994 the ANC won above 90 per cent in the general elections. Our plan is to win by an overwhelming majority in Dobsonville,” said Taele.

He said they have started a recruitment drive to recruit more members at the grassroots level to join their branch. Taele said they were also working hard to encourage the youth to join the ANC.

Their plan of action will be influenced by the ANC regional office’s plan for the next general elections. The ANC ward 48 executive committee is led by chairman Peter Taele, deputy chairperson Motlalepule Mosimane, treasurer Kgomotso Mahlangu, secretary Shirley Ndima and deputy secretary Lerato Bob.

Source: Soweto Urban